Tuesday, November 04, 2008

US Elections Live Maps

Election Results 2008 Map

Host the US Election results on your own website with this live Election Results 2008 Map.

Google, in partnership with Associated Press, have produced an embeddable US presidential election results map. The map will show the official results as they are announced.

You can check it out in the post above (and watch the results as they come in).

A Rough Timetable of Expected Results
  • 1800 EST (11pm GMT) - The Google Election map says that we should expect results at 6pm EST. This is when polls close in Indiana, with Kentucky not far behind. However the American television networks have pledged not to call any states until all the polling booths in the state have closed. So you may have to wait a little. Both of these states are traditional Republican territory.
  • 1900 EST (midnight GMT) - Virginia, Florida, Georgia, New Hampshire, South Carolina, Vermont. Vermont and New Hampshire going to McCain would spell trouble for Obama. Georgia going to Obama would be bad for McCain.
  • 1930 EST (12.30am GMT) – Ohio, West Virginia, North Carolina
  • 2000 EST (1AM GMT) – Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Alabama, Illinois, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, Texas, South Dakota. This may be the time when a victory either way starts to reveal itself. If either candidate has taken Ohio and Florida this would be a fairly strong indication that they are on the path to becoming president.
  • 2100 EST (2AM GMT) – Colorado, New York, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Nebraska, Wisconsin, Rhode Island, Arizona, New Mexico, Wyoming. The swing states here could be Colorado, Minnesota, New Mexico and Wisconsin.
  • 2200 EST (3AM GMT) – Iowa, North Dakota, Idaho, Montana, Utah, Nevada. Since 1968 Nevada has only once voted for the losing candidate.
  • 2300 EST (4am GMT) – California, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii
  • Midnight EST (5am GMT) – Alaska

This election will be the most mapped in history. The BBC, CNN, FiveThirtyEight.com and many other news media websites are all also planning to host live results maps on their websites.

________________
Post a Comment